Pickin’ & Grinnin’ in Blairsville

June 4, 2011

If you have been in our store, you know that we *LOVE* bluegrass music!  We’re always on the lookout for some great live music, and lucky for us– there are lots of great bands and musicians here in the mountains.  Here’s one of the best- The Collins Brothers!  If you love good fiddle’n, look no farther!
And even better- this is part of a free concert series presented by Union County Historical Society.  All concerts are held in the Historic Courthouse on the Square in Blairsville.  Below is the information taken from the Historical Society website.
See ya’ll there!

Collins Brothers at Old Courthouse

Native Union Countians and brothers, F.C. and Randall Collins, will perform in concert at the Old Courthouse on the Square in Blairsville at 7:00 p.m. on Friday, June 17.
The Collins brothers are two of the best known musicians in this area. F.C. plays guitar and sings. He has been a member of the staff band at the Georgia Mountain Fair for over thirty years. Randall has played fiddle with some of the best bluegrass bands in the country, including Bill Monroe.
The other members of the Collins Brothers’ band are Kerry Warbington, banjo; and Ken Young, also a member of the Hall of Honor in the Atlanta Music Hall of Fame, on bass. (Ken also owns Ken’s Herbs in Blairsville- Our favorite place for natural remedies and all sorts of goodies!)
A concert by F.C. and Randall is always enjoyable and varied with a mix between vocals and instrumental tunes. Randall usually showcases some of his fiddle students at their concerts, which is always a treat.
The Summer Concerts are presented by the Union County Historical Society as a public service and to keep alive the tradition of music in The Old Courthouse. There is no admission charge. The musicians donate their time and talents. Voluntary contributions to the restoration fund are always welcomed and appreciated.
Visit www.unioncountyhistory.org for more information on the free Friday Night Concert Series!

Previous post:

Next post: